KCSE Workshop

It is not only at the DSN that the Abitur will soon be starting, our Kenyan partners are already in the midst of preparing for their exams. In March, they will write their KCSE, the local equivalent of the German Abitur.

For years, we have been helping the Starkids students to prepare for the exams by inviting them to use our laboratory for experiments. On 22nd January, the second workshop of the year took place.

The day started in the Githongoro slum at our partner school, where the future examinees were picked up punctually. At 8:00 a.m., the lessons at the DSN began. Mr. Busch and Mr. Chesebe had already prepared the necessary samples, chemicals and equipment.

Throughout the day, a variety of topics were covered, including anatomy and physiology of the kidneys, the heart, the circulatory system as well as cellular respiration and ion identification.

The group discussions showed the great interest of the visiting students, who actively participated in the discussions and lively debated the topics covered. At the end, the groups presented their results and answered questions from the teachers.

The workshops will continue until the KCSE exams, for which we wish the students every success. Thank you to all involved who have made this wonderful cooperation possible for years.

Marketing Department

© 2022 Deutsche Schule Nairobi - German School Nairobi | Website by Digital Tangent

Scroll to Top

KCSE Workshop

Nicht nur bei uns an der DSN geht es bald mit dem Abitur los, unsere kenianischen Partner:innen stecken bereits mitten in der Prüfungsvorbereitung. Im März schreiben sie ihr KCSE, das hiesige Pendant zum deutschen Abitur.

Seit Jahren helfen wir den Starkids-Schüler:innen sich auf die Prüfungen vorzubereiten, indem wir sie einladen unser Labor für Versuche zu nutzen. Am 22. Januar fand so bereits die zweite Unterrichtseinheit dieses Jahr statt.

Der Tag begann im Githongoro Slum bei unserer Partnerschule, wo die zukünftigen Prüflinge pünktlich abgeholt wurden. Um 8:00 Uhr morgens begann dann der Unterricht an der DSN. Herr Busch und Herr Chesebe hatten die benötigten Proben, Chemikalien und die Ausrüstung bereits vorbereitet.

Den Tag über wurde eine Vielzahl an Themen abgearbeitet, darunter Anatomie und Physiologie der Nieren, des Herzens, das Kreislaufsystems sowie Zellatmung und die Identifizierung von Ionen.

In den Gruppendiskussionen zeigte sich das große Interesse der Gastschüler:innen, die aktiv an den Diskussionen teilnahmen und angeregt die behandelten Themen besprachen. Zum Schluss präsentierten dann die Gruppen ihre Ergebnisse und stellten sich den Fragen der Lehrer.

Die Workshops werden bis zu den KCSE-Prüfungen fortgesetzt, für die wir den Schüler:innen viel Erfolg wünschen. Danke an alle Beteiligten, die diese wundervolle Kooperation seit Jahren möglich machen.

Marketing-Abteilung.

© 2021 Deutsche Schule Nairobi - German School Nairobi | Website by Digital Tangent
Scroll to Top